Holiday Blog Hop Stop #2

ChristmasJoyMemeAdvI hope you’re enjoying the blog hop so far!

You probably arrived here from D. Brinsley’s Memory Keeping Blog, and if you read to the bottom of this post you’ll find a link to your next blog as well as a list of all the blog hop stops. 🙂

I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE the Christmas stuff CM has this year, and I’ve had a lot of fun coming up with some cute cards that feature the Christmas Joy line.

Did you know that last year December 22 was the busiest mail day of the year, with more than 460 MILLION pieces of mail delivered just on that one day??? (Yeah, actually I didn’t know that either, but I was wondering so I looked it up.) So if you’re sending out Christmas cards this year, you’re in good company! Here are some ideas for cards you can make yourself and send to your friends and family.

Pop-Up Cards

First, I made a couple of Christmas cards that use the “tried and true” pop-up pattern:

For these cards, I used designer cardstock from the Shades of Bright (green) and Shades of Red paper packs for the bases and decorated with pieces from the Christmas Joy paper pack, stickers, and slide-in pack.

20151103_200339The paper pieces on each segment of the Deck the Halls card all come from a single sheet of paper–the 12-inch title strips. It was nice that I could cut just one piece of paper and get lots of different patterns on this one! I cut the red stocking out from a slide-in card using scissors. (I also used the tan/gold stocking from this piece on another card, as you’ll see below.)

The star and trees for the Noel card also came from slide-in cards, and I punched them with the Evergreen and Star cartridges for the Border Maker System (by far, one of my favorite tools). The “double star” is just two of the stars overlapping each other. (The other paper pieces for this card are cut from various papers in the Christmas Joy pack.)

20151103_20582320151104_10263420151104_102756I also did a Halloween version of this card last month.

All independent CM advisors have access to the full instructions for cutting and folding this card in the Advisor Back Office (yep–CM takes good care of us!). If you are not an advisor, please contact your advisor (or contact me if you don’t already have an advisor) for these instructions.

Pull Cards

Second, I made a couple of more ambitious “pull” cards. The basic idea comes from Oh Happy Day, which I found on Pinterest, but besides the design of the pull mechanism I really went my own way with these two cards. It took a lot of experimentation before I arrived at a couple of cute and fun designs that I thought you would like:

Front of the Santa Claus and Christmas Traditions cards

Front of the Santa Claus and Christmas Traditions cards

You could certainly make a similar looking card without actually going to the effort of including the “pull” feature of these cards–I think the fire in the fireplace turned out really cute, and I might use this for other cards, too!

Here is a PDF with more pictures and instructions for both of these cards. If you’re interested in making one, please set aside PLENTY of time and some additional paper because it might take you several tries to get these right. This is a fun technique that you could incorporate into cards and album pages after you’ve mastered it, so I think it’s worth trying out!

Other Cards

Third, I also made some simple cards that don’t require complicated instructions. 🙂 The bases of these are all 4×6 cardstock (8×6 folded in half) that come from the Shades of Neutral designer cardstock pack.

Quick tip: When using a dark-colored cardstock (like the black used for a couple of these cards), you might want to also attach a light-colored swatch of paper inside the card so you can write your note inside the card with a regular pen. Metallic pens also work well if you’re writing directly on dark cardstock.

What do you think? I hope there is something here you love that will inspire you to create and share amazing things during this holiday season!!!

If you would like to pick up any of the items featured in my post, you can order from the CM website (my advisor link) or contact an advisor in your area.

Your next stop is Lisa’s Workshop. Enjoy the rest of the hop!

  1. D. Brinsley’s Memory Keeping Blog
  2. Crop With Stef (You’re here!)
  3. Lisa’s Workshop
  4. Celebrating Your Beautiful Life
  5. Click Write Share
  6. Scrappin’ Jpegs
  7. Julie’s Creative Memories Blog

Be sure to return to the CM blog to wrap up your hop at the end!

A short note about comments: I love to hear your feedback and your thoughts on the ideas I share, but I will not tolerate “spammy” comments or content that would in any way be inappropriate for children. I reserve the right to delete comments that are inappropriate.

You may see advertisements below this blog post. Anything below this statement was not published by me, nor is its appearance on this page an endorsement of the advertised product, service, or information.

5 thoughts on “Holiday Blog Hop Stop #2

  1. Pingback: Project Idea: Pop-Up Christmas Card | CREATIVE MEMORIES BLOG

  2. Pingback: Project Idea: Pop-Up Christmas Card | Creative Memories australia blog

Leave a Reply

