Slice of Summer Cards!

Slice of Summer Cards

I’m so excited to share these cute Slice of Summer cards with you today!

I made these as a Friday Featured Project for Creative Life Scrapbooking, and I’ll be teaching these as a class with my local crew in northern Utah through the end of this summer. (The class actually includes 3 more cards in addition to the ones you see here, and designs may vary by kit. Contact me to sign up for a class.)

These cards use:
Slice of Summer Paper (about 1/4 of a pack)
Slice of Summer Stickers

Slice of Summer Variety Mat Pack (about 1/4 of a pack)
Raspberry Cardstock

Cloud Cardstock

Goldenrod Cardstock

Foam Squares

Scallop Burst Border Punch

Tape Runner

12-inch Straight Trimmer

Personal Trimmer

Scissors

Multipurpose Tool

– Some Odds and Ends (leftover epoxy stickers, printed sentiments, and old CM “Short Story” cards)

SOSC1Card 1: Happy Birthday

The base of this card is a 4.5×6.5 mat, folded in half to create a mini 4.5×3.25 card. (The Multipurpose Tool is my go-to for scoring and folding!)

I added a piece of pink paper trimmed to 4.25×3 with foam squares (one on each corner and one more in the middle), and then finished it off with a cute flower sticker and a printed “Happy Birthday” sentiment. I used scissors to trim the sentiment strip into a banner.

SOSC2

Card 2: Lake Life

This is one of the 4×6 mats, folded in half to create a mini 4×3 card.

For this one, I hand-trimmed a piece of the canoe/kayak paper and attached it on the left side with Tape Runner and then added three stickers straight onto the card.

SOSC3Card 3: Cool Off

This one starts with another 4.5×6.5 mat, folded in half to create a mini 4.5×3.25 card.

I cut a piece of the ice cream paper to 4×2.75 and attached it to the card with Tape Runner, then I added a 1×4.5 strip of purple and a .25-ishx4.5 strip of striped paper across the bottom. On top of that, I added two popscicle stickers and the “Cool Off” sticker with foam squares.

SOSC4Card 4: Slice of Summer

This is the last of the mini cards, again starting with a 4.5×6.5 mat and folding in half to 4.5×3.25.

For this one, the cute base of the card does almost all the work! I just added a 3.25″ strip of the watermelon border sticker and then the “Slice of Summer” watermelon with foam squares–easy peasy!

This is definitely the quickest card in this set, but it still turns out totally adorable!

SOSC5Card 5: Watch More Sunsets

For this base, I cut a piece of Cloud cardstock to 8.5×5.5 and folded it in half to 5.5×4.25. Then I added a 5.25×4 piece of the black floral paper. On top of that, I trimmed down of one of the 4×6 mats to 4.5×3.25 and attached it to the card with foam squares. Finally, I added the “Watch More Sunsets” sticker.

SOSC6Card 6: Today We Are Making Memories

This one starts with a Goldenrod cardstock base (8.5×5.5 folded to 5.5×4.25).

I added the purple paper, cut to 5.25×4, and then I layered on one of the 4×6 mats trimmed to 5×3.75. I attached the “Today…” sticker using foam squares and then added the small yellow star sticker as well.

SOSC7Card 7: Summer Memories

This one starts with a Raspberry cardstock base (8.5×5.5 folded to 5.5×4.25).

I attached the stripes paper, cut to 5.25×4, and then I added a 1.5×5.5 strip of purple. On top of that, I adhered “Summer Memories” trimmed from a 4×6 mat. To finish this one off, I added some seashell stickers.

SOSC8Card 8: Summer

The base of this card (and the last two) is actually an old trimmed-down “Short Story” card. If you’ve been with CM for 10 years or more, you may remember these from home shows. I have a tendency toward hoarding…so there are still quite a few of these in my stash. 🙂

If you don’t have any of these cards, you could use CM’s Gray or Beige cardstock instead. Cut a piece to 6.75×10.5 and fold it in half to make a 6.75×5.25 card. After you have your card base set up…

Cut a piece of the green paper to 6.625×5.375 (those are 1/8s inch increments) and attach it to the card base. Punch a strip of pink paper with the Scallop Burst Border Punch, and trim it to 5.25×2. Attach this to the card and layer a 5.25×1 piece of the canoe/kayak paper on top of it. Embellish the centers of your “bursts” with rhinestones or epoxy stickers (the ones I used come from the old CM Enchanted epoxy stickers).

I double matted the “Summer” sticker, first with pink trimmed out to follow the shape of the sticker, and second with watermelon paper trimmed to 2×2, and then I attached this to the card using foam squares.

SOSC9Card 9: This Way to the Beach

This one also uses a “Short Story” card as the base. Cut a piece of the orange paper to 6×5.375 and attach it to the card base. Cut two wave border sticker strips to 5.5″ each, and overlap those at the bottom of the card. Add the sun, surfboard, and “This Way…” stickers, and then use two purple paper scraps as legs for the sign.

(I think this basic layout would also be really cute for a full scrapbook page!)

SOSC10Card 10: We All Scream for Ice Cream

Again, I used a “Short Story” card as the base. Cut a piece of the yellow paper to 6.525×5 and attach it to the card base. I hand-trimmed a piece of the ice cream paper and attached it on the left side with Tape Runner. Then I matted the “We All…” sticker with the blue canoe/kayak paper and added it and the two ice cream cone stickers to the card with foam squares.

Fun, right?!?

I hope you enjoyed these cards, and I would LOVE to have you join one of my card classes if you’re nearby!!

You may see advertisements below this blog post. Anything below this statement was not published by me, nor is its appearance on this page an endorsement of the advertised product, service, or information.

Leave a Reply

