Creative Scrapbooker September Sketch

P1030493 (1)

21686217_846215615554485_1398414676816005450_nThis month, the Creative Life Scrapbooking team decided to take Creative Scrapbooker magazine’s Sketchy Challenge and make layouts based on this circle layout sketch, but with a twist: stash busting only! All of us have lots of older scrapbooking supplies, and sometimes we need some motivation to use that instead of the brand-newest stuff. 🙂

TBH, when I first saw this sketch I was like, “What am I going to do with this?!?” It was way outside my normal scrappy comfort zone! I tried one layout that I totally hated (maybe I’ll post that as a blooper sometime), and I almost gave up.

But then I was struck with inspiration one day as I gathered a bunch of wedding announcements off my fridge and realized that the three photos from those announcements would be perfect for this layout! Once I had that thought, I LOVED the process of creating this page! (And while I was journaling on the page, I even got teary-eyed because the people on this page are so special to me, so clearly this was an important story for me.)

P1030485 (1)Supplies

For this layout, I used all CM products and tools, some mostly older but some newer as well.

Retired papers and embellishments:

  • Natural Elegance Paper Pack (very recently retired)
  • Metallic Gold Cardstock
  • Chalet Power Palette Papers (lavender & peach)
  • Precious Element Printed Vellum (I think this color was copper.)
  • Printed Wedding Die Cut
  • Mini Classy Ivory ABC/123 Stickers
  • Paper Flowers from Black & White, Delight, Reflections, Reminisce, and Simply Beautiful Power Palettes
  • Sticker scraps and leftovers from Enchanted Paper Ribbon and Epoxy Stickers

Retired tools:

  • Frame Chain Border Cartridge
  • Twinkle Chain Border Cartridge
  • Lovable Pocket Punches
  • Heart Maker
  • Jumbo Circle CCS Pattern

Current products (available on my CM website):

P1030494 (1)Process

I found that the important thing to this layout was figuring out first what I wanted to do with the pictures. I’ve seen lots of layouts from this sketch where the photos aren’t cropped or aren’t part of the circle, but I wanted my photos to be part of the “pie” on the page, so I had to figure out what the orientation of the pieces would be so I could cut my photos into the right shapes without cutting right through my people. After figuring that out . . .

  1. I used the CSS Jumbo Circle, Red Blade, and Mat to cut the arc edge of each photo and piece of paper (three different papers from Natural Elegance) BEFORE trimming the triangular part for the center of the circle.
  2. I used the 12-inch Trimmer and the 60/30 degree angle marks to cut all my photos and paper pieces to the right angle.
    Tip: It took a bit of practice to get the pieces to fit right, so I recommend doing this on some “low-stakes” scraps or paper pieces first, before you cut into your photos or anything else that can’t be replaced!
  3. To “ground” my circle on the page, I used a Black Dual-tip Pen to sketch a circle just larger than my pie pieces (traced a bowl that was the right size), and then also sketched around the edges of my paper pieces.
  4. I adhered all these pieces to the page base (also from Natural Elegance) with a regular Tape Runner.

Time to Decorate!

For decorations, I combed through my stash of older stickers, embellishments, and pre-punched shapes and borders. I picked out more than I was going to use and then whittled the stack down as I tried out different combinations and figured out what I liked for this page.

Tip: If you have odds and ends of paper you don’t want to store, try punching out a few borders and shapes from the paper so you can quickly add those to your layouts in the future!

P1030493 (1)The pink paper I used as a base for the layout already had a printed border along the bottom, but I decided to layer it with some torn peach and punched gold and lavender papers, then I also added letters to spell out “I love you” – all of the colors are subtle, so I felt like this was a good understated combo. The Repositionable Tape Runner Refill was perfect for my gold “twinkle” border piece!

I also added clusters of flowers, hearts, and a few other scraps from paper and stickers around the page. All of the circles, borders, and hearts were already punched and in my stash, so I just had to adhere them to the page! Some went onto the page with Tape Runner, and I used Foam Squares to add some dimension to others.

P1030496 (1)Flowers often seemed incomplete without centers, so I added black and green sticker scraps, a vellum circle, and jewel and pearl stickers to “finish” these off. I also added a few more scraps of peach with journaling and fussy cut “Will you marry me?” from an old die cut to add as a title to the page.P1030492 (1)

Finally, I added the text of this story to the bottom right side of the page. Sometimes I debate about whether to journal straight onto the paper, and in this case I think I might have liked the look of it better if I had done it differently, but the story is told and the page is done – don’t let “perfect” be the enemy of “good” . . .

What do you think? Is this a layout you would use? I didn’t think so at first, but for me it turned out to be a perfect fit for these pictures and this story!

You can see more layouts based on this sketch on the Creative Life Scrapbooking Facebook page and in the Creative Scrapbooker Sketchy Gallery.

You may see advertisements below this blog post. Anything below this statement was not published by me, nor is its appearance on this page an endorsement of the advertised product, service, or information.

Leave a Reply

